Two Dogs

In response to a Totally Optional Prompt for “Three Dogs“, though my canine mathematics is wrong.

 

two dogs outside,
I am in a pantomime
dressed as “The Wrong Tree”.

I say my important piece
I sway gently in the leaves,

the barking of dogs,
and the rain,
disrupts my poem.

I say my important piece
I sway gently in the leaves,
my leaves are falling
out of fear

and then,
in scene 4 –
the character of “Rain”
falls upon the pavement
and makes a claim for compensation.

One of the dogs
skips a scene,
brings back a drum.

the other holding it in place,
while a drumstick plays between his teeth,

(because, after all,
is it the drumstick that plays
or is it the drum?)

and then my branch
grows out of the window

and I say –
“stop that noise!”
though my voice is feeble.

turns out,
as a tree,

I have no lines
in the play.

11 thoughts on “Two Dogs

Leave a Reply

